Call for Papers

Download Call for Papers:


Autonomous and Spontaneous security focuses on the dynamics of system behaviour in response to threats, their detection, characterisation, diagnosis and mitigation in particular through architectural and behavioural reconfiguration. Such approaches are needed in Embedded Systems, Pervasive Computing, and Cloud environments, which bridge the physical, social, and computing worlds and challenge traditional security provisions from different perspectives. Systems must be agile and continue to operate in the presence of compromise, introspective and self-protecting rather than just hardened, resilient to more complex threats yet more vulnerable as they are physically accessible, widely heterogeneous and need to integrate long-term legacy components.

Ensuring their resilience and protecting such systems at scale requires novel solutions across a broad spectrum of computational and resource environments, that integrate techniques from different areas including security, network management, machine learning, knowledge representation, control theory, stochastic analysis and software engineering amongst others.

SETOP invites submissions of novel research results and practical experiences relevant to autonomous and spontaneous security approaches including but not limited to the list below. We are looking for contributions to both technologies application areas.

Examples for Relevant Application areas:

  • Cloud Environments
  • Critical Infrastructures
  • Vehicular Networks
  • Mobile Computing
  • Mobile Ad-Hoc Networks
  • Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Personal Area Networks
  • Internet of Things

Examples of Relevant Technologies / Methodologies:

  • Intrusion and Compromise detection and characterisation
  • Anomaly detection and diagnosis
  • Continuous Authentication
  • Dynamic re-perimeterisation
  • Autonomous Key-Management
  • Context-aware security adaptation
  • Risk assessment at run-time
  • Trust and Reputation
  • System resilience and Survivability
  • Measures and Metrics of system health and resilience
  • Proactive vs. Reactive Security Strategies
  • Synthesis and Evaluation of response strategies
  • Data centric self-protection
  • Bio-inspired models for security
  • Self-Organisation


The event will be held in conjunction with ESORICS 2014 and hosted in Wroclaw, historical capital of Silesia, which at various times has been part of the Kingdom of Poland, Bohemia, the Austrian Empire, Prussia, and Germany.

Submissions Guidelines:

The proceedings will be published by Springer in the LNCS series. Submissions in English, of at most 15 pages and complying with the LNCS formatting must be submitted before May 21 at At least one author of each accepted paper must register and present the paper at the workshop.

Important Dates:

Submission deadline
: June 23rd, 2014
Acceptance Notification
: July 31st, 2014
Camera ready
: August 7th, 2014
Workshop date/place
: 11th September 2014, Wroclaw, Poland


General Chairs:

  • Frédéric Cuppens (Télécom Bretagne, FR)

Program Committee Chairs:

  • Emil C Lupu (Imperial College London, UK)
  • Joachim Posegga (Univ. of Passau, DE)

Program Committee

  • Habtamu Abie (Norw. Computing Centre, NOR)
  • Ehab Al-Shaer (UNC Charlotte, US)
  • Fabrizio Baiardi (University of Pisa, IT)
  • Lorenzo Cavallaro (RHUL, UK)
  • Ana-Rosa Cavalli (Télécom SudParis, FR)
  • Mauro Conti (Università di Padova, IT)
  • Jorge Cuellar (Siemens AG, DE)
  • Frédéric Cuppens (Télécom Bretagne, FR)
  • Nora Cuppens (Télécom Bretagne, FR)
  • Gabi Dreo-Rodosek (UNIBW, DE)
  • William Fitzgerald (EMC, IRE)
  • Dieter Gollmann (University of Hamburg, DE)
  • Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean, GR)
  • Mohamed Hamdi (Sup’Com Tunis, TN)
  • Thorsten Holz (Ruhr-University Bochum, DE)
  • Trent Jaeger (Pennsylvania State University, US)
  • Christian D. Jensen (Univ. of Denmark, DK)
  • Martin Johns (SAP AG, DE)
  • Kwok-yan Lam (National Univ. of Singapore, SIN)
  • Jean Leneutre, (Télécom Paris Tech, FR)
  • Javier Lopez (Univ. of Malaga, SP)
  • Fabio Martinelli (CNR, IT)
  • Ives Roudier (Eurécom, FR)
  • Daniele Sgandurra (Imperial College London, UK)
  • Radu State (University of Luxembourg, LX)
  • Neeraj Suri (TU Darmstadt, DE)
  • Elias Tragos (ICS-FORTH, GR)
  • Shengzhi Zhang (Florida Inst. of Tech., USA)

Steering Committee

  • Ana-Rosa Cavalli (TELECOM SudParis)
  • Frédéric Cuppens (TELECOM Bretagne)
  • Nora Cuppens-Boulahia (TELECOM Bretagne)
  • Jean Leneutre (TELECOM ParisTech)
  • Yves Roudier (EUROCOM)


  • Said Oulmakhzoune (TELECOM Bretagne, France)

Quick information

Workshop date/place:
11th September 2014, Wroclaw, Poland

Submission deadline:
June 23rd, 2014,

Acceptance Notification:
July 31st, 2014

Camera ready:
August 7th, 2014